Start Living a More Positive Life: Assessment Time

Positive LifeIn our last post (Start Living a More Positive Life: Changes You Can Make Today), we spoke about envisioning the elements of life that are most important to you.  Lets take a look at those right now.  I want to help ensure we are on the right track before the next step.  For example: If money is on your list, you will need to dig deeper.  What is it about money that appeals to you?  Safety and comfort?  A means to explore what life has to offer?  Bottom line, something about money (not money itself) appeals to you.  It is one of many tools that can be used to achieve what you want.  Fame is another one that requires digging deeper.  What is it about fame that you truly desire?  To be loved?  To make a significant contribution to others?  I think you see the trend, but if there is one on your list that you aren’t sure about, don’t hesitate to ask–I am by no means the authority on importance, but I am here to help you work through this and live authentically!

Now that you’ve found those key ingredients that make you who you are, it is time for the life around you to reflect what you’ve discovered inside.  Look at your current life and ask yourself, “Does what I see match what I have discovered?”  Let’s start by looking at your job, where you most likely spend a majority of your time…

  • Does it reflect your values?
  • Does it allow you to express them?
  • Is it in line with who you are at your core?
  • Do you feel satisfied with what you have accomplished at the end of the day?

Now let’s look at the rest of your life.  

Your friends and family…

  • Do they share or support these values?
  • Do they add to your happiness?
  • Do they inspire you?

Your free-time…

  • Are your hobbies built around your values?
  • Are you using your free-time to indulge in this unique brand of YOU?

Finally, your home…

  • Does where you live enable a lifestyle that complements you?
  • Are you able to live the way you’d like to live?

It was a bit unsettling what I found when I first asked myself these questions.  I looked at my career at the time–I was stuck inside at a computer doing paperwork all day.  I didn’t have time to travel, my dogs where sitting at home without me, and creative expression didn’t go well with the conformity that was demanded.  Then I looked at the people in my life–there were a lot of wonderful ones, but there were also a few who were down right cancerous!  My hobbies–I barely had time and when I did have the time, I was too exhausted.  On top of it all, my home didn’t match. What is a nature loving, think outside the box type doing in a suburban town home?  This was a huge wake up call that I needed to make major changes in order to live a happier, more fulfilling life.  So I sat back down to do some more meditating, journal doodling, and talking out loud to dream up what my ideal life did look like.

This week is your chance to think things over.  How well does your life match up?  For those items that don’t match, what would fit?  This is the stage where you dream without limits.  There is no concept of what is or is not possible, only what your heart desires.  Next week we will look at how to make your dreams a reality.

Did you enjoy this post and want to walk through the series?

Start with Step 1: Changes You Can Make Today

You are on Step 2: Assessment Time

Next is Step 3: Time for Change

 

2 thoughts on “Start Living a More Positive Life: Assessment Time

  1. Pingback: Start Living a More Positive Life: Changes You Can Make Today | Under Open Skies

  2. Pingback: Start Living a More Positive Life: Time for Change | Under Open Skies

Leave a Reply

